John F. Kennedy’s Vision of Peace

Written by RFK Jr., it may be a bit too rosy a depiction of JFK, but is essentially my view of the reason for the assassination. What is of interest here is the difficulty both Khrushchev and JFK had in dealing with their respective military establishments. The lengths they had to go to to exchange letters is instructive–and astonishing.

Jr. cites KFK and the Unspeakable, which though deeply religious, is interesting nonetheless in its description of the secret JFK-Khrushchev correspondence.

I once sent an email to Sergei Khrushchev, Nikita’s son, who then taught (and may still) at Brown. I asked him two questions: Who killed JFK and why,  and what in his opinion was the best history of the Russian Revolution. I mentioned Trotsky’s, Sukhanov’s, and Miliukov’s books specifically. To my great surprise and delight, he answered. He ignored the first question, and said that all the histories of the revolution yet written (this is 2005ish) were so tendentious as to be worthless. I wrote back in amazement “All of them?” His reply was succinct: “Yes.”

Actually he more or less answers the first question in his biography of his father, on which I complimented him in my original email. It’s a bit sentimental, but quite good nevertheless.

No lover of either man I, but JFK and Khrushchev may have indeed saved the planet–for now.

http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/john-f-kennedys-vision-of-peace-20131120

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to John F. Kennedy’s Vision of Peace

  1. Pingback: JFK’s Vision of Peace: Rolling Stone Article by RFK Jr. | THE SCARECROW

  2. Pingback: Radio Interview with RFK Jr. on JFK | THE SCARECROW

Comments are closed.